Simple Weight loss formula?

Most girls ( plus some guys) will agree with me that losing/maintaining weight is a never ending mission in our lives. I was taught during nutrition class that the formula to get rid of some weight is as simple as the one below:

Energy in – energy out = Weight gained/loss

According to Nutrition.com.ag, in order to  lose 1 kg, you theoretically have to cut back on 3850 calories per week or 550 calories per day.

In another word it may simply means eat less, work more and lose weight. Is it really that easy?

I have been watching “the biggest loser asia” for the past few days. It does motivate me to get my butt off from my chair to move around more when I am watching it. Looking at the KGs that they have lost, it feels like a miracle. It is not impossible, but i think it comes with GREAT discipline and determination.

My bro has recently almost half of himself in just few months(less than 6) time. (from 15X kg – 83kg i think)

Basically what he did wass : Strictly No breakfast, dinner, only vege during lunch; played golf more frequently. Well, although I strongly against the extreme method he went through to lose so much of weight and i started scaring him about potential refeeding syndrome, muscle wasting, sudden death , etc, I from the bottom of my heart RESPECT his will power. If only I possess 5% of his determination, I will be sexy slim.

Okay, back to story. The formula seems simple. I personally think that losing weight sometimes can be as difficult as quit smoking. It involves a lot of psychological factors.

Let me revise this semester’s drug addiction lecture :

Drug/Substance addiction involves, the set, setting and drug, which also mean the person, environment and substance

Same goes to losing weight : it involves the determination of the person intended to lose weight, the influence and temptation around he/she and the substance could be food+/- physical activites.

Leave a comment